We are energy that flows in frequencies, like a radio or TV. Sometimes, it is a bit tricky to understand the role of the chakra, never mind what it is. For those who are new to holistic therapies I will drop a few lines about the chakra system and its main characteristics. It is a brief explanation about the chakra system and I hope that it will make your interest grow. Keep researching this amazing light source and distributor of cosmic energy.

Light and Love ♥


Energy centre called Chakra, 'sanskrit’ english translation: Wheel - are similar to vortices. They are constantly spinning subtle energy, picking up energy and transmuting it into a form to condition the human form for its use. 

There are seven main Chakras associated with the physical body. Each of those main Chakras associates with a grand nerve plexus and endocrine glands. The seven Chakras are located in a vertical line that runs up from the base of the spine to the head. 

Thanks to developments in technology, today, scientists acknowledge the existence of the Chakras and Meridians in the human body.

From a physiological point of view, Chakras seem to correlate with the flow of superior energy to cellular structure of the physical body through channels of subtle energy. They act as energy conductors. The energy is translated into hormonal changes, physiological and cellular in the entire body. 

The seven main chakras are:

Muladhara - Fondation, Physical - Root Chakra. Located at the base of the spine. 

“ I am here in my body and all is well”

Sound: LAM

Sanskrit: Mul - base,  Adhara - support

Color: Red

Corresponds with Gonads, kidneys, adrenal glands and lower digestive tract


Svadhisthana - Emotional - Sacral Chakra. Located in the abdominal region, over the testes in men and ovaries in women. 

“I am surrounded by relationships that feels good. I am a sensual and creative being”

Sound: VAM

Sanskrit: Swa - Self, adhisthana - dwelling place.

Colour: Orange

Corresponds with reproductive organs, circulation, urinary and elimination. Vitality and sensuality.


Manipura - Will - Power - Ego - Solar Plexus Chakra. Located above the navel.

“I am a powerful creator of my life”

Sound: RAM

Sanskrit: Mani - Jewel - Gem, Pura - dwelling place.

Colour: Yellow

Corresponds with Digestive system, muscular system, liver, pancreas, spleen and stomach


Anahata - Centre - Heart Chakra. Located on the heart region of the vertebrae. 

“ I am love, compassion for self and others, forgiveness and deep connection”

Sound: YAM

Sanskrit: Unstruck - the sound of the unstruck bell.

Colour: Green

 Correspond to the heart, lungs and thymus gland.


Vishuddha - Carotid plexus - Throat Chakra. Located in the throat, neck region.

“I am communication, trust, expression and independence”

Sound: HAM

Sanskrit: Specially pure

Colour: Turquoise Blue, Aquamarine 

Correspond to Thyroid, parathyroid and metabolism growth.


Ajna - the centre of psychic, visual and intuitive perception. Brow - Third Eye  Chakra. Located between the eyebrows. 

“I am tuned into the divine universal wisdom and always understand the true meaning of life situations.”

Sound: SHAM

Sanskrit: Beyond wisdom

Colour: Indigo blue

Correspond to Eyes, endocrine system, pituitary and pineal glands. Intuition, psychic abilities, memory and vision. 


Sahasrara - thousand petals - The Crown Chakra. Located on the top center of the head. It faces upwards to receive energy from above.

“I am the connection with higher self, spirit, source, universe, God and Divine wisdom”

Sound: OM 

Sanskrit: Thousand, infinite

Colour: Violet or purple

Corresponds with Cerebral cortex, Pineal Gland.


As I have mentioned, it is a brief description that will help people to identify the mains Chakras that form the Chakra system. There are many other Chakras around the body. I strongly encourage you to dive into the subject and learn more about it. It is an incredible way to open up your ideas and understand the self. 

Holistic Therapies treat the person as a whole, body, mind and spirit. The energy that forms us, moves us and lives within. We are Energy!